Forum
Filter     |   View Watchlist
[ Print Friendly ] [ Watch Thread ]

Strife453
HDTV 'Ghost Images'?I've had my HDTV, a Samsung LE26R7 for almost two years now. About three months ago I started seeing background images of previous images displayed on the TV. Such as the 360 dashboard still being a bit translucent after I start up a game. I use the TV only for my 360 and simply have it connected with a HDMI cable.

I googled and got a bunch of posts in forums about others that get this problem with TVs, just thought i'd get some more advice. Does this problem sound like the TV is in fact just 'dying', i'm not very tech savvy but does it indicate the display is just losing it. Or is it possible it could be something to do with my connection? The HDMI cable?

Anyone recommend I try different connections such as VGA or even a new HDMI? Or as I said before, is it a common problem among HDTVs that they all succumb to eventually?

Thanks for any help.
#1  Posted 5 years ago  |  Reply  |  Quote
11 REPLIES Watch  |  Sort by Likes · Date
KWierso Sponsor
In reply to Strife453, #1:

You must've left your TV viewing your Dashboard for a long time. I don't know of any way to fix burn-in.
#2  Posted 5 years ago  |  Reply  |  Quote
Strife453
Hmm, the background images fade after a while though, I only need the same image on for less than thirty minutes and the images will be stuck on the screen for hours. It even does it with some user interfaces in games, such as Civilization: Revolution, I can be playing that for a while, then watch a DVD and the interface blocks that are always present during the game will display.

As well as that, camera movements panning across will cause really visible lines from whatever image it is moving away from. An example would be playing a really dark game, such as Condemned, i'll move the camera from a light area to a dark area and the light will sort of blur across the dark.