Forums > Music

Power Metal

Posts (232)

• GunSlinger89

GunSlinger89

#4885863 - 13 years ago

I've noticed the growth in the amount of power metal bands (ever since Rhapsody and DragonForce). I will admit that I am relatively new to the Power Metal genre. I was also wondering about some power metal band recommendations. Currently I listen to:
    Kamelot
    Sonata Arctica
    Rhapsody
    DragonForce
    Guardians of Time

• appledude212

appledude212

#4886337 - 13 years ago

Where the fuck is Iced Earth and Blind Guardian?

YOU CANNOT HAVE A POWER METAL LIST WITHOUT THEM.

• Chipper173

Chipper173

#4886538 - 13 years ago

He said he just started and was looking for recommendations.

• Ragnaviper

Ragnaviper

#4886545 - 13 years ago

In reply to appledude212, #3:

Iced Earth? What are you smoking? They're closer to thrash than anything.

Still though, anyone looking for recommendations can start here:

Helloween - classic - first three albums
    Blind Guardian - often considered the best in the genre - all albums are good
    Stratovarius - similar to Rhapsody - get Infinite and Visions
    Jag Panzer - thrashier than most, less flowery than the ones you mentioned - get Thane To The Throne
    Dream Evil - heavier than most bands in the genre - all albums are good
    Nocturnal Rites - this band has pretty much every good quality existent in power metal - Shadowland is their best
    Agent Steel - heavier PM band that reunited a few years ago - Omega Conspiracy is their best
    Manticora - darker, heavier stuff with some surprisingly good guitar work - 8 Deadly Sins is probably their most accessible
    Fireaxe - not the best introduction to the genre but still worth mention - pick up Lovecraftian Nightmares if you find it, it's pretty cheap
    Wintersun - the vocalist has a different style than most other PM bands, but the music's just solid PM
    Gamma Ray - Kai Hansen's (of Helloween) band - musically similar to Helloween's first album - get Powerplant