Forums > Technical

Ram problems

Posts (23)

• NuclearWintr

NuclearWintr

#9645140 - 11 years ago

I have been getting odd errors recently which when I run certain programs. I believed the problem to be my Ram so I downloaded and ran the most recent version of memtest (I am not experienced in this program though) and tested each stick of ram in my computer; all 4 sticks displayed errors under memtest.
    Even though they all show errors in memtest I can boot to windows with the sticks and windows recognizes the correct amount of ram.
    the error when I tried to run Half Life Source ater it crashed (I cant get other Source games to work either)
    hexerrorln1.jpg
    I can run other games like COD4 or TIberium wars just fine though.

I was getting errors like this a few weeks ago when I had spytbot installed, every time I used teatimer it would display almosty a dozen of these errors. The only new hardware I have on my computer is a new Western Digital 75 gig "My Book"External Hard Drive. I get the errors whether its on or not, and on my Dads Vista computer, his PC freezes while its plugged in but returns to normal when its unplugged.

My Specs:
    Asus A8N32 Delux MB
    4X512MB sticks of Corsair DDR 400 (PC 3200)
    AMD Athlon 64 2.2
    Windows XP X64

• Strider165

Strider165

#9645512 - 11 years ago

In reply to NuclearWintr, #1:

If memtest is telling you it's bad memory, chances are it's bad memory. Not much else really to say about it...

• KWierso

KWierso AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

#9645629 - 11 years ago

Anything on this list should be a suitable replacement.

• NuclearWintr

NuclearWintr

#9645803 - 11 years ago

I understand that Im going to have to replace the RAM, but Im still curious as to know why all 4 sticks decided to screw up at about the same time and why, even though each are listed as bad in Memtest I can still boot my computer using the sticks.

Also could there be anything else going on with my system?

thanks for the help