Forums > The Rooster Teeth Safe Room

Safety at community events

Posts (10)

• GB330033

GB330033 FIRST Member Star(s) Indication of membership status - One star is a FIRST member, two stars is Double Gold Whoops, looks like somet

#32414718 - 5 years ago

Hey everyone,

For those who don't know me, I run RT SideQuest, a group founded by @count3d that works to connect the RT community and charity. We host events for community members throughout the year and have a blast doing it.

I know this group is primarily geared towards cyber-bullying, but what about when our community goes offline and gathers together? We come together at so many events throughout the year, but do we ever consider that some community members may not want to attend because of past negative experiences.

So I began to wonder: Has RTSQ ever caused someone to feel unsafe? I have no direct knowledge of anything like that ever happening at an RTSQ event (If you have knowledge of such a happening, PLEASE message me), but I want to get out in front of it and make sure it doesn't EVER happen.

So what would you say are the most important things an event can do to make you feel "safe"? What things are immediate red flags? How can we (Not just RTSQ, but the entire community) help each other feel safe at community events? I'd like to compile all of your suggestions into a list of things that community event organizers can do to ensure that EVERYONE feels safe attending their events, despite any past history with cyber bullies.

Suggestions so far:

- Clear anti-harassment/bullying policy set forth in the event details

- Publicly available contact information for event organizers/staff that attendees can use in the event of an issue

- Contact details for methods of transportation to/from events (Cabs, buses, safe ride programs, etc)

- "Buddy System" for attendees to meet beforehand and have at least one "safe" friend at the event

Post edited 2/19/14 1:29PM

• Karl

Karl

#32414719 - 5 years ago